Division Street Bridge is a lovely stone arch bridge that stands majestically over Seekonk River along Division Street in Pawtucket, Rhode Island. This historic architecture masterpiece was first built in 1877 and has been since open to public traffic, making the lives of motorists easier. As of 2006, this bridge had an approximated 21,900 daily traffic volume.
The bridge stretches to approximately 446 feet and measures around 25 feet in width. So strong and hard-wearing this bridge is that it stood for over a hundred years without needing rehabilitation until the year 1985. Credit for this functional and at the same time artistically designed transportation structure belongs to Horace Foster, who made it beautiful using granite, stone and bricks.
In November 18, 1983, the deserving architecture masterpiece of Providence County was added to the prestigious list of the National Register of Historic Places, making its mark in the history of the United States. Around November in 2007, Division Street Bridge was limited to one-way traffic between Prospect and George Streets and 22-ton weight maximum load by the state transportation department. The limit was further reduced to 18 tons later through Route 95 over the Pawtucket River. The limits were imposed to prolong the life of the historic bridge, which is over a century old. After seven months of restoration and preservation, bridge was reopened to two-way traffic in June of 2008.