Wellington Zoo

The Wellington Zoo was opened in 1906 on thirteen hectares of land along Daniell Street, Newtown in Wellington. It is the only zoological garden in Wellington and it is also the oldest zoo. It is a member of the esteemed Australasian Association of Zoological Parks and Aquaria. The Wellington Zoo began from a young lion that was given to Richard Seddon, then Prime Minister, by the Bostock and Wombwell Circus. The lion was named King Dick and he was the first specimen of the zoo. As the years passed, the zoo continued to expand and develop, and it committed itself to conservational education through bringing people and animals closer.

The Wellington City Council originally managed the zoo, but in June 2003, the zoo was converted into a charitable trust. It is currently operated by a board composed of six trustees while the Wellington City Council provides funding for maintenance and other projects. The keepers of the Wellington Zoo are heavily involved with managed breeding programs. They have, so far, been highly successful, and many of the animals in the zoo are products of these breeding programs. The Wellington Zoo works with zoos in other parts of the world through a group of zoologists responsible for tracking particular species to ensure the genetic diversity of species. Aside from breeding programs, the Wellington Zoo is into several conservation projects. These include the Kereru Discovery Project, Te Papa, Pukuha and the Wildlife Sanctuary. The people behind the Kereru Discovery Project work to make Wellington a safer place for the Keruru which are native wood pigeons.

The Wellington Zoo contains several exhibits. They include the African Savannah, the Monkey Islands, the Twilight, the Reptile Houses, the Lion Exhibits, the Sumtran Tiger Exhibit, and the Malayan Sun Bear. The African Savannah features a giraffe house, and it also contains zebra, ostrich and antelopes. Near the African Savannah exhibit are the areas for the hamadryas baboons and cape hunting dogs. The Monkey Islands are located near the zoo entrance. The two islands hold the capuchin monkeys and gibbons. The Twilight is home to the zoo’s nocturnal species, which are, mainly, the kiwi and tuatara. There are two Reptile Houses in the zoo. One contains reptiles, while the other has been converted to become the Historic Elephant House. The Lion Exhibits hold two prides of lions. The rare tigers for the Sumatran Tiger Exhibit have all been bred and born in the zoo. There is also a Malayan Sun Bear Exhibit, and other animals such as bats, red pandas, cheetahs and Asian otters may be seen in the Wellington Zoo. The zoo offers the “Close Encounter” program to visitors. The animals involved in this exciting program include the red pandas, cheetahs, lions, tigers and giraffes. Some people may opt to spend their day visiting the animals under the zoo’s conditioning program with a member of the training team.

Old St. Paul’s Wellington

Old Saint Paul’s is located on Mulgrave Street in Thorndon, Wellington, near the New Zealand Parliament. It used to be a cathedral in Wellington’s Diocese of the Anglican Church of Aotearoa in New Zealand and Polynesia. It is influenced by the Gothic Revival style of architecture that was prevalent in the 19th century. The structure adhered to colonial materials and forms. Old Saint Paul’s was designed by Saint Paul’s vicar at that time, Reverend Frederick Thatcher. Saint Paul’s is located in Thorndon. In August 1865, Sir George Grey laid the foundation stone for the structure. A year after, on the 27th day of May in 1866, Bishop Abraham consecrated Old Saint Paul’s.

The enchanting church is made entirely of native timbers from New Zealand. It has beautiful stained glass windows that lend an interesting play of colors to the sunlight that goes into the interiors of the church. The inside of Old Saint Paul’s is comparable to an Elizabethan galleon’s upturned hull because of its stained roof planks and exposed curved trusses. The nave of the church features flags that contain the ensigns of the New Zealand Merchant Navy, the Royal Navy and the second division of the United States Marine Corps, which were all posted in Wellington when the Second World War broke out. Old Saint Paul’s maintains close ties with the New Zealand Defense Force.

Old Saint Paul’s columns and walls are adorned with several commemorative plaques that honor the brave who fought and perished in the First World War. A plaque for J.C. Beaglehole is also in the church. Beaglehole is a famous Wellington historian who authored James Cook’s biography. The Diocese of Wellington transferred to the Wellington Cathedral of Saint Paul in 1964. Old Saint Paul’s almost underwent demolition. Fortunately, the New Zealand Government bought the historic building in 1967. The Ministry of Works and Development was tasked to restore the church. Currently, Old Saint Paul’s is under the management of the New Zealand Historic Places Trust. The New Zealand Historic Places Trust is a non-profit organization that stands for the protection and restoration of New Zealand’s heritage structures.

The trust was established through the Historic Places Act 1954. It is headed by a Maori Heritage Council and a Board of Trustees. Their main office is in Antrim house in Wellington. Aside from Old Saint Paul’s, the New Zealand Historic Places Trust owns the Stone Store, the Te Waimate mission house and the Mission House. The trust publishes the New Zealand Heritage magazine every quarter to keep the public updated on their projects and activities. At present, Old Saint Paul’s no longer serves as the community’s parish church, but because of its deep-rooted charm and because it is still consecrated, the church regularly functions as venue for funerals, weddings and other such services.

Sacred Heart Cathedral

During September 8, 1850, the construction for St. Mary’s Cathedral began with the blessing and laying of the foundation stone while over two thousand townspeople looked on. In 1856, Bishop Ward asked for more funds to expedite the building of the cathedral. His appeal was heard, and the Catholics from Southland and Otago, particularly the Weld, Johnston and Petre families, donated generous amounts of money to finance the project. A statue of Saint Mary arrived in 1867 during the Feast of the Nativity of Our Lady. It was placed in the cathedral’s tower in honor of the Diocese’s consecration in 1855, and to symbolize the Lady’s protection over the city. In June 2, 1878, Bishop Vaird passed away. He was buried in the same cathedral he put up after a procession through the town, a procession so magnificent that it was forever imprinted in the pages of Wellington’s history. During the morning of November 18, 1898, a fire started in the cathedral’s tower. The tower did not last an hour before it fell.

The interiors and furnishings of the cathedral were severely damaged. Two days after, a meeting was called for the design and construction of a new church. It was decided that the new church would be put up near Te Aro and Newtown since the population in those areas were greater than in others.

A General Committee was formed to plan the new church. The members included Archbishop Redwood, Father Lewis, Father Devoy, Dr. Morgan Grace, C.J, Johnston, Major R.J. Collins, R.R. Collins, E.E. Gibbs, J.J. Devine, A.A. Corrigan, B. Whitaker, H.S. Wardell, W.C. Gasquoine, O. McArdie, P. Sheridan, J. O’meara and T.Dwan. Frank Petre was the architect commissioned for the project. The construction of the Basilica of the Sacred Heart began in July 16, 1899 when Archbishop Redwood placed the foundation stone.

In 1903, fund raising activities were initiated to replenish the Cathedral Trust Funds that were spent for the basilica. Petre’s proposed design was published on the campaign materials and it was poorly received by the public. J.S. Swan, also an architect, submitted another design that showed Roman, Florentine and Renaissance influences. In 1913, the foundation stone for the new basilica was laid. The construction, however, was disrupted in 1914, when the First World War broke out.

At the end of the economic depression in the 1930s, the construction project was revived. Messrs Clere & Clere prepared another design for the cathedral. Their design was Gothic-inspired church that could accommodate two thousand two hundred forty people. The Archbishop of Westminster, Cardinal Hinsley, came to New Zealand for the foundation stone laying. However, in 1939, the Second World War began. After the war, progress in construction was very slow because the church had to attend to more important matters. Finally on March 18, 1984, Cardinal Thomas Williams solemnly dedicated the Basilica of the Sacred Heart Church on Hill Street, Thorndon as the Archdiocese’s Cathedral Church.

Botanic Garden Wellington

The Wellington Botanic Garden is a twenty five hectare awe-inspiring tract of nature. It features beautiful conifers, colorful seasonal displays and wide plant collections with non-native species. The protected Native forest also has, within it, a Rose Garden that is the stuff of fairytales. Its extensive flora selection has won its designation from the Royal New Zealand Institute of Horticulture as a Garden of National Significance.

The Royal New Zealand Institute of Horticulture is the sole National Horticultural Society in the entirety of New Zealand. They aim to improve and promote horticulture by creating awareness, appreciation and a deeper understanding of plants. The breath-taking Botanic Garden was founded during 1868. The New Zealand Institute, which had a program involving the planting of conifers for importation, originally managed the garden. The program was instituted to help the New Zealand Institute determine the potential for success and the economic benefits of the plant importation industry.

In 1891, the Wellington City Council took over the management of the garden and began making improvements that has made the Wellington Botanic Garden the wonder that it is today. The Botanic Garden is home to Treehouse Visitor Center built in 1991, the Lady Norwood Rose Garden made in the 1950 and the Begonia House built in the 1960 – a large glass house designed in the Victorian-style of architecture. To provide visual variety and heighten the drama in the Botanic Garden, there are numerous sculptures and art pieces in the garden. Most of them are by Henry Moore, Chris Booth and Andrew Drummond. There is also a large play area and a duck pond, which many children enjoy.

From the central business district of Wellington, the easiest, and not to mention the most scenic, way to get to the Botanic Garden that is located between Thorndon and Kelburn, is by taking the Wellington Cable Car. Thorndon is on the north, and Kelburn is on the west of the business district. The Wellington Cable Car runs from the Lambton Quay to the peak of the Botanic Garden. Because it is such an attractive and relaxing place, many Wellington locals, from the young to the old, may be seen walking, jogging and just hanging out in the Botanic Garden. The Wellington City Council holds events in the garden, especially during the summer months when the plants are at their best and the flowers are in bloom. There are a number of organizations that are housed in the Wellington Botanic Garden.

They include the Carter Observatory, which is the National Observatory of England, the Wellington Cable Car Museum, the Meteorological Service of New Zealand, the Victorian University Innovation Greenhouse (commonly called “T-Up”) and the New Zealand headquarters for the World Wide Fund for Nature.

The Basin Reserve

The Basin Reserve, more commonly referred to as “The Basin”, is in Wellington, New Zealand. It is the most popular cricket ground in New Zealand and it is used for one-day, test and first-class cricket although originally, it was also used for concerts, other sports events and social gatherings. Its fame in the cricket world is due to many factors. These include the Basin’s convenient two kilometer distance from the Wellington central business district, its age and to the fact that it is the only cricket ground to have been designated as a Historic Place in New Zealand.

The Basin reserve is situated at near the Mount Victoria Government House. To the south of the Basin is Wellington College, an all boys’ school. To its east is the Mount Victoria Tunnel. The tunnel was built during 1931. Since the tunnel’s construction, there has been a significant increase in the traffic flow in the Basin Reserve’s area. It is the point of intersection for the suburbs of Mount Victoria, Newtown and Mount Cook. Surrounding the Basin Reserve are other Wellington landmarks that are worth visiting. They are the Wellington National War Memorial Carillon, the Mount Cook Barracks, the Caledonian Hotel and what used to be the Dominion Museum. Basin Reserve now stands on what was originally Basin Lake. The lake was meant to be connected by a canal to the sea in order for it to become an inner city harbor. In 1855, a highly destructive magnitude eight earthquake shook the earth, and the land below the lake rose almost two meters, turning the lake into a swamp. Two years after, the citizens, influenced by the English roots, proposed that the land be drained so that it can be used as a recreational reserve. The Wellington council approved the proposal, and the draining and leveling of the land began on February 3, 1863.

In December 1866, a council meeting was held and it was decided that the Basin Reserve was determined. It was to become the official cricket ground in Wellington. The first game was played during January 11, 1868. The match was between the HMS Falcon officers and the Mount Cook Gaol prisoners. At that time, the Basin was not properly leveled and landscaped, and many of the players were injured as a result. Subsequently, the Basin Reserve became the venue for the Highland Games, which were organized by the Wellingtonian Caledonian Society. The Society attracted more teams to compete by offering cash prizes to the winners. This tactic became very, very successful, and soon improvements to the cricket ground were made. Grandstands were built to accommodate the cricket fans, and to hold food stalls on the west side of the Basin. The Society’s main office, the Caledonian Hotel, currently stands in the southern part of the Basin Reserve.

Brooklyn Wellington

Brooklyn is a suburban area in Wellington, New Zealand. It attracts numerous settlers because of its hospitable and warm atmosphere. It is located three kilometers to the south of the Wellington central business district on the eastern portion of the hills over Happy Valley. The suburban areas near Brooklyn include Aro Valley, Highbury, Mount Cook, Vogeltown, Mornington, Kowhai Park, Panorama Heights, Mitchelltown and Karori. There are a number of parks and recreational areas in Brooklyn such as the Central Park, Tanera Park, Elliot Park and the Town Belt.

The Central Park takes its name after the one in New York. Established on Town Belt land in 1913, the park separates Brooklyn from the rest of the city. During the Second World War, the American forces used the park as a military camp for about five hundred men from the United States Marine Corps. The Tanera Park is to the north of Central Park. It is home to facilities for soccer, cricket and other types of sports. During 1991, the Wellington City Council assigned a portion of the park for low-income families to plant and grow vegetables. These are called the Tanera Community Gardens. The gardens are being managed and overseen by the Mokai Kainga Trust. The Elliot Park is on the western part of Brooklyn. It is close to Karepa Street and Mitchell Street. The Town Belt, part of which is formed by Central Park and Tanera Park, was granted to the city of Wellington as recreational grounds for locals. It covers over a thousand acres of land, which is being managed by the city council.

A top Pol hill in Brooklyn is the Brooklyn wind turbine. As part of a research and evaluation program, it was put up in March 1993 in Wellington because of the area’s higher than average wind activities and patterns. The wind turbine measures thirty and a half meters in height, while its blade measures thirteen and a half meters in length. It weighs a total of almost twenty three tones. The maximum output of the wind turbine is two hundred and twenty five kilowatts. Its nominal annual generation in one gigawatt.

That’s enough to power around sixty to eighty homes all through the year. Newer turbines are ten times more powerful. The generated power from the Brooklyn wind turbine is incorporated into the local electricity network for distribution in Wellington. The turbine is controlled electronically through the use of microprocessors that monitor it and automatically stop or start it as needed. A screen at the remote control center displays the data through a simple telephone line. When Meridian Energy got established in 1999, it acquired the single wind turbine. The research done and the information gathered from the turbine greatly influenced the future of wind development in New Zealand and Australia.

Cable Car Wellington

Wellington, New Zealand has its own funicular railway. A funicular railway, also called an inclined railway or cliff railway, is a type of cable railway where a pair of trams, going in opposite directions, counterbalance through cable connections. The Wellington Cable Car links the Lambton Quay and the suburb of Kelburn. Standing at a height of one hundred and twenty meters and having a length of over six hundred meters, the Wellington Cable Car provides a spectacular view of the city.

Its lowest point is in Cable Car Lane which is just off Lambton Quay, while the highest point is in Upland Road adjacent to the beautiful Wellington Botanic Garden. Both the garden and the cable car are among the most popular icons of Wellington. Between the lowest and highest terminals, there are three Wellington Cable Car stations, namely, the Talavera, the Clifton and the Salamanca.

The Wellington Cable car has two cars that are attached to one another by a powerful cable thirty millimeters in diameter around a pulley. The cars run at an average speed of eighteen kilometers per hour or five meters per second. The can carry approximately one hundred passengers. Every year, almost the Wellington Cable Car gets almost a million passengers. It is heavily used by commuters from Kelburn; by Victoria University students and by travelers going to the Wellington Botanic Garden and to other tourist attractions.

The concept for the Wellington Cable Car was born because of the city’s rapid growth during the elate 19th century. The installment of a funicular was suggested in order to make Kelburn more accessible. Back then, Kelburn was the proposed site for most residential construction projects. During 1898, the Kelburn & Karori Tramway Company was founded. The company had plans to link Kelburn to Karori through a tramway. Engineer James Fulton was the designer behind the system. He mapped out the route and he developed a cross between the funicular and the cable car. In 1899, construction began, and the project was opened in 1902. During the 1970s, the Cable Car was deemed to be unsafe and it had to be closed down in September 1978. The Cable Car resumed operations in October 1979 after Habegger AG of Switzerland made significant improvements to the system.

However, the Cable Car still got several complaints and after a major accident in 1988, it was again closed for another overhaul, which proved to be more effective. Since then, more and more people started using the Cable Car. Until 2007, the Wellington Cable Car was operated by Transfield Services, an Australian company. Currently, the Wellington Cable Car Ltd, which is under the City Council of Wellington, owns and operates the Cable Car. They also own the overhead wires used by the trolleybuses in Wellington. They oversee the operations, maintenance and customer-servicing.

Duke Arthur Wellesley

Wellington is home to several memorials that commemorate significant events and people who have shaped the city’s history. One such memorial is the Wellington Statue in Aldershot that was made by sculptor Matthew Cotes Wyatt. It was unveiled in 1846 in Hyde Park Corner, and during that time, it was Britain’s biggest equestrian statue. It measures thirty feet high, twenty six feet long, and twenty one feet wide. It weighs a total of forty tons. The Wellington Statue is a monument to the first Duke of Wellington, Arthur Wellesley. He won the Battle of Waterloo and he later became the United Kingdom Prime Minister. The statue saw its beginnings during the end of the Napoleonic wars when several monuments to British victory were being put up. A committee responsible for the raising of funds for the Arthur Wellesley memorial statue was established in 1837 under the Chairmanship of the Duke of Rutland.

The statue shows Wellesley on his famous horse, Copenhagen. Wellesley rode Copenhagen as he fought the Battle of Waterloo. Most of the bronze that was used in the statue was obtained from the French cannon which Wellesley secured for Wellington during the war. Arthur Wellesley himself sat for Wyatt. Unfortunately, Copenhagen had passed away and another horse had to be used as a model. Many locals, to date, are offended by this and see little resemblance between the sculpture and Copenhagen. Wyatt finished the statue in 1846, and it was moved from his workshop to the Hyde Park Corner onto the victory arch that was, at that point in time, yet to be completed. Several people, including Queen Victoria, thought that the memorial was poorly positioned, but it could not be relocated during the lifetime of Duke Wellesley who would have considered the transfer of his statue insulting.

In 1882, the Wellington Arch, also called the Constitution Arch or the Green Park Arch, was moved on Hyde Park Corner. Wellesley’s memorial was removed and brought to Green Park. In 1833, King Edward VII, who was then the Prince of Wales, proposed that the statue be moved to the Aldershot Military Town where he believed that it would be placed in high regard by the Army. The Parliament followed this suggestion, and the statue was transported to Aldershot. The Prince of Wales chose Round Hill near the Royal Garrison Church as the spot for Wyatt’s massive memorial. In August 1855, the statue was presented to the British Army in a major ceremony. Unfortunately, the memorial was not properly maintained. In 2004, a drive towards the restoration of the statue was initiated by Aldershot Garrison. Garrison obtained the support of local conservation organizations and volunteers. The statue was re-bronzed and the surrounding overgrown shrubs and bushes were cleared.

Wellington Weather Radar

The Wellington, KY Metro Radar map provides high resolution radar imagery of Wellington. A weather radar functions to locate and calculate the motion of precipitation. The radar can also be used to predict the form (rain, snow or hail) in which the atmospheric precipitation will hit earth, its location and its intensity. The city of Wellington is fortunate to have such an advanced digital radar system. The city of Wellington reaches up to the far northern town of Linden. It also covers Ohariu and Makara. The city is the sixth largest cities in all of New Zealand (the first five being in Auckland and Christchurch). Wellington was established as a city during 1866. It is the capital of New Zealand and it is home to the country’s Parliament and Government.

The city has around sixty official suburban areas. In the Northern Ward, the official suburbs are Broadmeadows, Glenside, Churton Park, Grenada, Horokiwi, Grenade North, Johnsonville, Newlands, Khandallag, Paparangim Ohario, Tawa, Woodridge and Takapu Valley. The informal suburbs in the Northern Ward are Linden, Greenacres and Redwood. In the Onsloe-Western Ward, the officially-listed suburbs are Northland, Karorim Croftom Downs, Ngaio, Kaiwharawhawa, Ngaurangam Makara Beach, Makara and Wilton. The informal suburban areas include Cashmere, Rangoon Heights, Chartwell and Te Kainga. In the Lambton Ward, the official suburbs are Brooklyn, Kelburn, Aro Valley, Mount Victoria,

Te Aro, Oriental Bay, Wadestown, Thorndon, Highbury, Roseneath and Pipitea. The informal are Mitcheltown and Taitvillee. In the Southern Ward, the official suburban areas Island Bay, Berhampore, Newtoen, Houghton Bay, Vogeltown, Mornington, Kingston, Mount Cookm Southgate and Owhiro Bay. Kowhai is the only informally-listed suburban area. In the Eastern Ward, the official suburbs are Hataitai, Miramar, Kilbirnie, Lyall Bay, Breaker Bay, Maupuia, Karaka Bays, Melrose, Rongotai, Moa Point and Strathmore. The informal suburban areas are Crawford, Seatoun Bays, Miramar Heights, Seatoun Heights and Strathmore Heights.

There are many communities of common interest in Wellington City. These are the domestic and international tourist attractions established by Positively Tourism which is funded by the city. The communities are grouped by common interests like entertainment, sports, arts and architecture, creative business, finance, specialist shopping, archives, performance spaces, and so on. These communities include the Courtney Quarter, the Courtenay Place, the Cuba Quarter, the Thorndon Quarter and the Lambton Quarter.

Several educational facilities may be found in the city of Wellington. The main campus of the Victoria University of Wellington, which is the city’s oldest university, is sited in a hill in Kelburn that overlooks the city center. The university also has campuses in downtown Wellington and in Karori. A branch of the Massey University is located in Wellington. It replaced the Wellington Polytechnic. Other schools in the city include the Wellington School of Medicine and Health Sciences, and the Wellington Institute of Technology.

Wellington International Airport

Situated on the Rongothai Isthmus, five miles (seven kilometers) south east of Wellington, the Wellington International Airport (WLG) is a small (only 100 hectares) yet one of the most significant airports in New Zealand, serving destination across the country and Australia as well. Other landmarks near the airport are the Evans and Lyall Bays, the Miramar Golf course and Strathmore Park. It has a single runway of 1,936m (5,350ft). In 2005, WLG has served to an estimated 4.6 million passengers. Thanks to the popularity of Peter Jackson’s film, ‘The Lord of the Rings,’ tourists were attracted to fly to Wellington to experience the movie locations of the popular film, which is just nearby. Currently over five million passengers are being served by WLG annually, with 100,000 arriving and departing flights. The Wellington International Airport is strategically-placed for those who want to explore the North and South Islands and the Canterbury region, which are all nearby the airport.

At the airport are waiting public buses that will serve transport passengers to Upper Hutt and Central Wellington. Shuttles can also be found in the airport, and this is also a convenient choice for those who want to circle around Wellington. Some may also opt to go for lines of taxis which can be found in the luggage retrieval area of the main building. The opening of the Wellington International Airport (WLG) in 1959 projected that it would make its mark of replacing the Paraparaumu Airport in the north as the premier airport. It would then start to offer a range of flights.. However, WLG’s original domestic terminal was built as a momentary gauge inside a ridged iron hangar, which wasn’t replaced for many decades. It was known for being overcrowded, permeable and draughty.

Not until the WLG has faced a dramatic change over the years. One of the most significant improvements of the airport was done in the 1970s, when the single runway was lengthened from its original 1,600 meters to 1,936 meters, so that larger jets would then be accommodated. There was also a major refurbishment in the mid-1980s and the assimilation of land from the Miramar Golf Course for the improvement of parking facilities in the mid-1990s. A new terminal was also built, the latest improvement that was given to WLG. Another interesting move the WLG has made was when the airport installed a large statue of Gollum on the terminal in 2003. This was done to promote the world premiere of The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, as well as the location where the whole film was shot. It was then immediately removed. Now, WLG has been an airport of convenience to passengers, with various banking services, car parks and food halls. It also has a conference center in the mezzanine that can serve up to 120 delegates. Lounge areas are also provided.